Kansas or bust!

I never really understood what exactly “or bust” means, but I was really tempted to write it on the car windows. I think I would have if it weren’t a rental.

We started the day by using the expertise of Andrea’s husband, William, to get all of our bags in the small trunk of the rental car. I think he did an awesome job!

We are preparing tonight for the preconference event we will be attending. It is called Launch Me and we have to make short presentations as part of our participation. We will get critiqued and will also learn valuable information about professional speaking. I’m really looking forward to it, but standing up and speaking to a room full of presenters is a little daunting. I speak in front of audiences frequently, but they are there because they want to hear what I have to say. Doing a presentation in front of a group who is there to critique my speaking skills is very different.

The lesson of the day: Careful planning makes for swift and satisfactory completion. We planned this trip well and we arrived in Kansas quickly and with everything we need (I think). A teacher can take this lesson to heart – approaching a classroom without a good and effective plan will make for a very tired and frustrated teacher at the end of the day, not to mention students who feel like their time has been wasted.

Life is short – don’t waste their time!

Leave a Reply

