Going Paperless: Journey or Destination?

I had the opportunity to make a very brief presentation to Discovery Educator Network (DEN) educators during a webinar last week. It is part of the DEN “Shining STAR” series of webinars where Discovery STAR Educators like myself can share the things we are doing in our classroom.

Making the move toward going paperless has become a focus of mine this school year, so I shared some of my thoughts about the process. I really don’t know if every teacher can accomplish being completely paperless. I really don’t know if every teacher in a 1:1 school district can accomplish being completely paperless. What I DO know is that every teacher CAN make steps toward becoming paperless. Now is the time to do it. With Earth Day coming up April 22, there has been a push for teachers to make the pledge to be paperless on that day. This pledge isn’t about making sure you’ve made all your copies the previous day, it is about trying to develop lessons for the day that do not require the use of paper and create positive learning experiences for students. To make the pledge, complete the pledge form. This movement was started on the TeachPaperless blog.

Over the next few days, I’ll be posting parts of my presentation on this blog with a more detailed discussion of the things I’ve learned through this process. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

