Putting the cruel shoes on

A few days ago, I wore a new pair of shoes to work. I should have known better – my schedule for the day was full of walks on and across campus. If you’ve never been there, Southern Methodist University is a beautiful campus, but getting from anywhere to anywhere is a walk. Thankfully, the group of teachers who were there for professional development that day decided to eat on campus instead of walking off campus, but I still had a lot of walking to do.

I knew I was really in trouble when I already had four giant blisters forming around my heel/ankle by 10:00 a.m. I put lots of bandages on and hoped for the best as I walked with the teachers to lunch.

When I got home, I had two huge blisters and one gigantor blister (two had merged), and none of the little bandaids I had put on remained. I went out that night and bought special bandages that would actually stay on so that I’d be able to wear similar shoes the next day.

What’s the point of this post? Well, I started this blog with a cruel shoes post and, although I’m not ending the blog, it is moving into a new adventure with me, so I thought this recent story was relevant.

I’m returning to the classroom. A face-to-face classroom. I’m putting on those cruel shoes again.

Why would I do something like that? I’ve had a year and a half to reflect on things and it has been very valuable. I’ve learned where the “blisters” are likely to form. I’ve learned the correct type of “bandage” to use to keep them from forming in the first place and if they form anyway, what type of “medications” to use to make them heal.

I’ve also learned how to choose more comfortable shoes.

I’m excited to be going back to the classroom. Keep watching this blog, as I’m sure I’ll have lots to talk about.

Leave a Reply

